Muesli

The first time I had Muesli was when I was in Switzerland during my late teens. I remember thinking this is breakfast?? This cold oatmeal stuff? I was probably not impressed.

DSC_0155

Now that I am older and a bit more wise I appreciate it so much more. Being able to have a healthy filling breakfast ready for you to just eat in the morning with no prep is fantastic! I love that I’m getting fruit, protein, and fiber all in one meal as well.

My recipe may not be completely traditional, but I took a little bit of everything from a few different recipes I thought looked delicious. I mean this is the kind of thing that you can make to suit your tastes exactly. I roasted my own hazelnuts, and they were awesome!

DSC_0134-2

Also, considering I have camping on the brain, I think this would be a great breakfast to bring with. It’s a filling way to start a long day full of physical activity.

DSC_0139

This serves about six.

Ingredients:

2 cups of rolled oats

1/4 cup of pumpkin seeds

1/4 cup of sunflower seeds

1/2 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 cup of crushed roasted almonds or hazelnuts

1 large apple grated

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 cups of almond milk (or regular if you can have it)

Optional: Add raisins

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a big container and allow to soak overnight before serving. It would probably be great with yogurt on top if you like that sort of thing, or warm poached fruit. Enjoy!

DSC_0140

Leave a Reply

