Avocado Milkshake

I found another substitute for one of my former dairy loves. Avocado milkshakes! I was sceptical at first because I’m not actually a big fan of plain avocado, but Oh. My. Goodness am I glad I was wrong.

DSC_0007

 I’m not sure what this weird little fruit does when it’s mixed in with milk (or a milk alternative) and I don’t really care. What it creates is a thick awesome tasting shake!

 I found this recipe here, and adapted it slightly. (She actually has a lot of good stuff that I might be trying out.)

 Her recipe says it serves two, but I found this would easily be good for four people. It made a blender full.

 Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups non-dairy milk (I actually used lactose free milk to try it out)

1 ripe avocado

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

1 teaspoon almond extract

dash of nutmeg

2-3 tablespoons honey, or maple syrup

2 cups ice (I just threw this in by the handful until it felt right)

 Directions:

Scoop the inside out of the avocado. Add everything expect ice to the blender, blend until smooth. Then add ice until it seems right. Taste and adjust the sweetness etc. to your desired taste. That’s it!

DSC_0001

 I think this a great drink for summer, and you can probably add any flavour you want with this base. Adaptable recipes are the best recipes. I was thinking about how strawberry might be mmmmm!

One thought on “Avocado Milkshake

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Banana Shake | Petite Panini

Leave a Reply

